If I Tell You Flying Isn’t “That Bad”

Saying flying isn’t “that bad” is like when mothers say labor isn’t “that bad.”

Now, I may not be forcefully pushing something the size of a watermelon out of something the size of kiwi (sizes not scientifically nor anatomically accurate), but the birthing analogy is quite apropos.

Auf Wiedersehen Frankfurt!

In an effort to be more transparent about the digital nomad lifestyle (aka going beyond the curated Instagram photos), I would like to advise you to please take it with a grain of salt if you hear me say flying isn’t “that bad.”

Much like mothers who go on to have more children, the only way I will get back on a plane to fly across continents and oceans with my wife and my little yorkie is if I focus on the positive and try to forget the negative.

Sure, flying, especially long-distances, is not as bad as driving or kicking it Western style in a horse and buggy, but that doesn’t mean it’s easy.

Amsterdam, Netherlands 2015

My wife and I are both digital nomads who work from home, so we sold our cars to be able to afford flying more frequently. That being said, going through security can feel like being stuck in the interminable rush hour traffic we try so desperately to avoid. Lines are long, and temperaments are short.

Also, dealing with bodily functions can be a bit of a nightmare. For example, last month Aunt Flow decided to pay me a visit right before a 16 hour trip. Yep, that was fun.

Traveling with a dog is uniquely challenging, especially when you realize the only pet-relief area is in a different terminal that you don’t have access to, and you are about to board an overnight flight.

dsc08609For the most part, our little fur baby is a lovely travel buddy. Except maybe for that time he had diarrhea all over me. It was not pretty. Luckily, a woman took pity on me and gave me a t-shirt to wear so I didn’t stink up the whole plane the rest of the flight!

And did I mention when we flew through about thirty minutes of life-flashing-before-your-eyes turbulence? Tears were shed. Sickness bags were used.

These are the unforeseen circumstances that no amount of research can help avoid – words that strike terror into the heart of a Type A travel planner like me.

And yet, like parents who complain about their kids but love them and keep having more, I too will continue to travel and love the cities I am able to explore because I choose to keep flying.

After all, it wasn’t that bad.

Amsterdam, Netherlands 2015

Lovely Comments

