New Life Approach #64281

“What do I find interesting?”

It’s a relatively simple question, yet today, it’s blowing my mind. Literally changing my life. (Insert whatever other millennial “authentic living” cliches you can think of here.)

More than anything, this is an attempt at answering my own question of where I see myself in 5, 10, 20 years without having a full-blown anxiety attack. Also, I find that asking myself what I find interesting changes how I perceive “successful” professional advancement and how I approach seeking out new opportunities.

Split, Croatia 2015This is a pretty big shift from previous approaches. Ordinarily, I worry about what will seem impressive to myself and others, what will allow me to create a financially stable future, and what will make my mother happy.

(Mami, if you’re reading this, I’m not saying I’m going to quit my job to pursue finger painting just because I happen to find that interesting one day.)

I feel excited by the idea of not knowing what I may do in the future, but knowing I can strive to do something I find interesting. Admittedly, part of me still feels panic-stricken, but it’s a work-in-progress.

I suppose only time will tell if this new, life-altering mantra will stick. Regardless, it doesn’t hurt to explore a new perspective and encourage a little self-discovery along the way.

-T

Lovely Comments

